Creating the library structure of multi-level libraries

To create the library structure in multi-level libraries, you first create the libraries (if they don't already exist) and then use the Library Dependency Editor to set up the dependencies between the libraries.

For example, consider the following library structure:
Web Library Structure
To create this library structure, you:
  1. Create each library (Web, Tomcat, Glassfish, Windows and Linux) and specify the library level.
  2. Create the library releases and versions.
  3. Add the Tomcat and Glassfish libraries as children of the Web library.
  4. Add the Windows and Linux libraries as children of the Tomcat library.
  5. Add the Windows and Linux libraries as children of the Glassfish library.
The final structure would look like this in the Library Dependency Editor:
Example of Web libraries in Library Dependency Editor

When you add a child library, the children of this library are also added. For example, if you add the Tomcat library as a child of another library, then the Windows and Linux libraries are also added.

Also, as shown above with the Linux and Windows libraries, the same library can be referenced by multiple libraries. However, they must be of the same version in the dependency graph for a library. For example, in the Web dependency graph above, you could not add both the CentOS 6 and the CentOS 5 versions of the Linux library. The same library can be included many times by other libraries in the dependency graph as long as they all use the same version of this library.