Understanding Content Level Security

Content Level Security (CLS) is a feature that controls who has access to edit or read content.

The need for Content Level Security

For certain businesses, there is information that should not be shared or be editable between divisions. There are two key scenarios corresponding to different levels of access:

  • Completely confidential content: Content can be accessed only from some business units. Other units are not aware that the content exists.
  • Safety Reuse: A business unit can share content to other business units but only in read-only mode.

In these scenarios, CLS makes it possible for users in IXIASOFT Dynamic Release Management to set security levels on Branches for groups in IXIASOFT CCMS Web.

Important: CLS only works with content accessed through CCMS Web. Users in IXIASOFT CCMS Desktop can access all content, regardless of the security level that is set.

Understanding security levels

CLS uses a hierarchy of security levels, ranging from the most-permissive/open to the most-restrictive/closed. These security levels determine what users can see.

The content security levels are (from most-permissive to most-restrictive):

  1. Read-write: Content is viewable and editable
  2. Read-only: Content is viewable, but cannot be edited
  3. Invisible: Content is not visible

For example, if you have read-only access to a Branch, you can view topics in it. But you cannot edit them. A topic in an invisible Branch does not appear anywhere for you.

Security levels and groups

An Administrator sets security levels for content according to groups that are already defined within TEXTML Administration. For more information on the groups used to set security levels, see: Administration Guide for IXIASOFT CCMS.